๐๐ฎ๐ญ๐ง๐š๐ฆ ๐‚๐จ๐ฎ๐ง๐ญ๐ฒ ๐’๐ก๐ž๐ซ๐ข๐Ÿ๐Ÿ ๐‘๐จ๐›๐ž๐ซ๐ญ ๐‹. ๐‹๐š๐ง๐ ๐ฅ๐ž๐ฒ, ๐‰๐ซ. ๐„๐ง๐๐จ๐ซ๐ฌ๐ž๐ ๐›๐ฒ ๐ญ๐ก๐ž ๐–๐ž๐ฌ๐ญ๐œ๐ก๐ž๐ฌ๐ญ๐ž๐ซ ๐‡๐ข๐ฌ๐ฉ๐š๐ง๐ข๐œ ๐‹๐š๐ฐ ๐„๐ง๐Ÿ๐จ๐ซ๐œ๐ž๐ฆ๐ž๐ง๐ญ ๐€๐ฌ๐ฌ๐จ๐œ๐ข๐š๐ญ๐ข๐จ๐ง

10/5/2021

White Plains, NY: Sheriff Robert L. Langley, Jr. is proud and honored by the endorsement of the Westchester Hispanic Law Enforcement Association President, Hector Lopez.

โ€œThe Mission of the Westchester Hispanic Law Enforcement Association has been to dedicate itself to building an organization that will withstand the test of time. Over the years a lot of hard work has been invested into this organization, whose founding members pledged, would make a difference.

Our Association is here to represent those who for too long have remained disenfranchised, and left to do for themselves. We are here to keep vigil over those in our communities whose voices and concerns have all too often fallen upon deaf ears.

Above all, we are here to pave the way for our sons and daughters, who some day may choose the Honorable profession of law enforcement as a way of serving their communities.

In short, our Mission is to inspire, instruct and create the future leaders of law enforcement throughout Westchester County.โ€

Sheriff Langley is grateful to be endorsed by such a fine organization.

#sherifflangley #putnamsheriffNY #putnamcountyNY #westchestercountyNY #WHLEA #pattersonNY #coldspringNY  #garrisonNY #philipstownNY #carmelNY #mahopacNY #putnamvalleyNY  #brewsterNY #southeastNY #kentNY #reelectsherifflangley #fourmoreyears #therealsheriffofputnamcounty #KEEPPUTNAMSAFE

โ€”โ€”

๐๐ฎ๐ญ๐ง๐š๐ฆ ๐‚๐จ๐ฎ๐ง๐ญ๐ฒ ๐’๐ก๐ž๐ซ๐ข๐Ÿ๐Ÿ ๐‘๐จ๐›๐ž๐ซ๐ญ ๐‹. ๐‹๐š๐ง๐ ๐ฅ๐ž๐ฒ, ๐‰๐ซ. ๐„๐ง๐๐จ๐ซ๐ฌ๐ž๐ ๐›๐ฒ ๐–๐ž๐ฌ๐ญ๐œ๐ก๐ž๐ฌ๐ญ๐ž๐ซ-๐๐ฎ๐ญ๐ง๐š๐ฆ ๐‚๐ž๐ง๐ญ๐ซ๐š๐ฅ ๐‹๐š๐›๐จ๐ซ ๐๐จ๐๐ฒ

9/30/21

Peekskill, NY: Sheriff Robert L. Langley, Jr. is proud and honored by the endorsement of the Westchester-Putnam Central Labor Body President, Thomas Carey.

The WPCLB is a non-partisan organization which represents 150,000 members in Westchester & Putnam Counties. Their only goal is to represent the interest of its members, their families, and the thousands of working men and women who strive for good jobs, a healthy economy and a secure future.

#sherifflangley #putnamsheriffNY #putnamcountyNY #westchestercountyNY #WPCLB #pattersonNY #coldspringNY  #garrisonNY #philipstownNY #carmelNY #mahopacNY #putnamvalleyNY  #brewsterNY #southeastNY #kentNY #reelectsherifflangley #therealsheriffofputnamcounty #KEEPPUTNAMSAFE

Sheriff Langley and Westchester-Putnam Central Labor Body President Thomas Carey

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 8/3/21

To the Editor,

A resident of Putnam County would have to be living in a bank vault to not acknowledge the contention and animosity between the Putnam County Legislature (all Republican, save Ms. Montgomery) and Sheriff Robert Langley. We have a situation of political party over county and political party over public safety. This is not a good situation.

What is needed is leadership, an attempt and an ability to work with both entities, for the common good of the public in Putnam County. Where is County Executive MaryEllen Odell? Does she sit on the sidelines, in partisan vein, to allow this feud to continue or does she intervene and bring all relevant issues to mutual satisfaction? Sheriff Langley and his departmentโ€™s performance is exemplary and his only liability is that he is a registered Democrat in Republican Putnam.

Dr. Phil Bayer

Carmel

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 4/6/21

Dear Editor,

I was disturbed and angered recently when I watched a YouTube video called Police: Off the Cuff. It was an interview with a candidate for Kent Town Council, Robert Hyer, and the Republican candidate for Putnam County sheriff, Kevin McConville.

While the hosts of the segment and Hyer engaged in casual and bluntly racist chat, the Republican candidate for sheriff sat nodding in agreement. They ridiculed those suffering from addiction and shared thinly veiled anti-LGBTQ and anti-immigrant sentiments that were cruel and frightening. The disdain for those who do not share their particular worldview was on full display. Democrats and liberals were labeled as โ€œleftiesโ€, โ€œweirdosโ€, and โ€œnutsโ€. It was appalling coming from those who wish to be in public service. The yucking it up about the good old days when you could โ€œbeat 30 peopleโ€ with โ€œLouisville sluggersโ€ on a given night was truly disgusting, especially in light of this past year in which the deaths of Breonna Taylor and George Floyd among others, sparked a social movement against police brutality. Equally disturbing was the contempt for those who cared enough to peacefully protest against such brutality. Putnam County needs a sheriff who will stand for up justice and will voice objection in the face of injustice, not someone who will just laugh it off with the good old boys in full public view.

I am voting for Robert Langley who has done an excellent job as sheriff during his tenure and respects his constituents, regardless of their political leanings. We need a sheriff who will serve and protect all of us, including the โ€œnutsโ€, the โ€œleftiesโ€ and the โ€œweirdosโ€. Sincerely,

Sonia Ryzy-Ryski

Cold Spring

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 4/6/21

To the Editor,

The YouTube video โ€œPolice Off the Cuffโ€ brings to mind the Marx Brothersโ€™ line, โ€œWho you gonna believe, me or your own eyes?โ€ Watch the video or read the transcript โ€” either way, your eyes and/or ears will tell you that the two candidates in the video that are running for public office, Kevin McConville (candidate for Putnam County sheriff) and Robert Hyer (candidate for Kent Town Council), fully and knowingly participated in a roundtable condoning racism by law enforcement officers. That is a mindset that I find terrifying in any elected official, let alone one who is running for the top law enforcement job in Putnam County. McConville is clearly not up to the job of policing in the 21st century. Come November, Iโ€™ll be voting for Sheriff Langley.

Kathleen Duffett

Cold Spring

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 3/16/21

To the Editor:

Perhaps youโ€™ve seen the video: four former police officers griping on Zoom about the media, liberals, and protesters. They reminisce about the good old days when police could dish out justice with baseball bats. One of the participants, a candidate for Kent Town Council, recounts growing up in Brooklyn: โ€œIt was really bad. You know, at one point I was the only white person living in the entire neighborhood.โ€ He goes on to make a joke based on Asian stereotypes and later calls the governor a โ€œthird-rate Nazi.โ€

One of the other men in the video is Kevin McConville, currently running to replace Robert Langley as Putnam County sheriff. Throughout, McConville laughs, nods, adds his own insights and at one point says of the candidate from Kent, โ€œThatโ€™s why weโ€™re such good friends.โ€

As distasteful as it is, many of us have seen worse. But we all deserve better, especially from our elected officials. At no point in the conversation did McConville distance himself from or condemn the racist chatter or calls for โ€œstreet justice.โ€ He just sat there, nodding in agreement and contributing misinformation. This isnโ€™t how a leader โ€“ or someone who wants to be a leader โ€“ behaves.

In nearly four years as sheriff, Robert Langley has been tough, fair, and effective. Since Sheriff Langley took office, crime in Putnam County has fallen 56 percent. He treats everyone in this county โ€“ those who live here and those just passing through โ€“ equally. This fall, Putnam residents will elect the top law enforcement official in the county. They can choose Robert Langley โ€“ a fair and effective lawman โ€“ or the guy nodding along in the video. It should be an easy choice.

Ned P. Rauch

GARRISON

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 3/2/21

Dear Editor,

This letter is to clarify a few things that I have seen going on in Town and being written about in the papers.

Regarding the vaccine rollout, Putnam County and all its current elected officials are fully aware of all the issues. There is a weekly County call that all local officials are invited to. Questions are answered and information is provided and passed on to the public. The Putnam County Health Department and especially the Public Health Nurses, are doing a first-rate job. The vaccine pods throughout the County, including the Philipstown Recreation Center, are professional and organized. Vaccines come from the Federal Government to the State and on to the Counties. Our Health Department and the County Executive are advocating for Putnam every day. Anyone who thinks that every effort is not being made to secure vaccine doses is wrong.

About Pharmacies, neither the County nor the Towns have any role in how they operate. I do find it disturbing that a candidate for Sheriff and Vinny Tamagna, a paid county employee, have inserted themselves in this process. It appears that in an election year no tactics are too low. I do have to wonder why Mr. Tamanga is free to wander around at vaccine sites when he has no official capacity and should be at his six-figure County job.

Regarding the Putnam County Sheriff. The legislature needs to stop attacking the Sheriff and start supporting him. Anyone who knows Robert Langley knows that he is a decent man and competent Sheriff who cares deeply about the safety and well-being of the residents of Putnam. For legislators Nacerino and Sullivan to berate the Sheriff because he follows the law is wrong. Again, in an election year, people need to be aware that all tactics will be used to tear down an opponent. It seems that Sheriff Langley is not only running against an opposing candidate but most of the Legislature. The loudest and rudest voice in the room is generally the most dangerous and Legislator Sullivan should cede this role and look for ways to support the Sheriffโ€™s Department. Our residents demand and deserve better.

Finally, Hudson Valley Shakespeare and the Garrison Golf Course. The sky is not falling. Philipstown is known throughout the Hudson Valley as a place that takes planning very seriously. I have been an elected official and steward of the Town for twenty years. During that time, I have seen many proposals for projects, some good and others that were doomed to fail. The proposal put forth for the Garrison Golf Course has the potential to be great. This is a multi-year, phased project that will go through intensive review and I am confident that it will ultimately be a wonderful asset for the whole community.

Sincerely, 

Richard Shea

Philipstown Supervisor

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 11/10/20

To the Editor:

In attempting to defend their self-serving budget proposals, both Putnam County Executive MaryEllen Odell and Legislative Chairwoman Toni Addonizio revealed the mantra that the Legislature will wield against Democrat Sheriff Robert Langley when he runs for reelection.

Addonizio chirped โ€œbudget mismanagement should not be confused with our funding.โ€ Odell echoed the statement and added โ€œof the law enforcement agency.โ€

Odell further offered a smorgasbord sampling of overtime facts and figures within the Sheriffโ€™s Department, seeking to paint a portrait of Sheriffโ€™s deputies as overpaid, overtime grabbing police officers.

Overtime in law enforcement is not a planned activity. Stuff happens and when stuff happens in law enforcement, you had better be ready to plug the holes, here and there, if you wish to maintain proper public safety. You do not send one less fire engine to a blaze because you might be down an engine driver.

The two Republican politicians, along with their cohorts on the 8-1 Republican dominated legislature, do not seem able to recognize the obvious fact that a Democrat, like Langley, can perform a superior, competent job in Republican Putnam. In the process, these folks put the county population on a much less safe foundation with their budget cuts and party over county perspectives. As citizens of the county, we need to perceive the partisanship for what it is and how it should have no place in the application of law enforcement in our county.

Dr. Phil Bayer

Carmel

โ€”โ€”

PCSD Patrolmen’s Benevolent Association Statement – 11/10/20

The PBA would like to share our opinion on the 2021 budget and how it is defunding the Police and a desperate political stunt, all at the expense of the Putnam County residents that rely on our services. Please bear with us as we have a lot to say.

First, we would like to clarify our contract that took over three years of fighting to finally receive, thanks to a state mediator and the Legislators realizing there was attempt to portray them as the bad guys. Even after the state mediator awarded us a contract, there was an attempt to get the Legislators to vote the contact down and force us to arbitration. Did Deputy Chair of the Putnam County Legislature Neal Sullivan actually tell his co-legislators that Putnam County Executive MaryEllen Odell wanted the contract voted down? All throughout the contract process, the PBA leadership attempted to settle a fair contract for the PBA membership and their families. It also took three years for PCESA & The Jail unions to receive a fair contract, while at the same time Odellโ€™s inner circle gave themselves raises. The PBA leadership took a lot of blame for holding up the process, but again ALL three unions took the same amount of time to receive a contract, so how is just the PBA โ€œleadershipโ€ to blame? We took blame because we were outspoken and would not settle for whatever โ€œtheyโ€ wanted to throw at us. Thankfully, the Legislators voted to ratify our contact and perhaps now realize that many times they are used to do othersโ€™ dirty work. Unfortunately, the five Captains were denied a raise. Historically, the Captains, who serve at the discretion of the Sheriff, received their raises reflective of the raises granted to the PBA. However, under Sheriff Langley the Legislators were somehow convinced the long-excepted practice would no longer be accepted.

The 2021 budget cut and the manipulation of the Legislators was planned over two years ago by Odell and Sullivan at Fiddlerโ€™s Bar while watching the Kentucky Derby. In May of 2017, the PBA and the County had gone through a PERB hearing and were waiting to hear a decision. All throughout the PERB process the PBA was open to sitting down and signing a fair contract for both sides. The County continually refused until the PBA withdrew from PERB. Finally, Odell agreed to have a meeting, BUT she and Sullivan were then overheard during a conversation they had at Fiddlerโ€™s Pub in Carmel scheming against the PBA & Sheriff Langley while watching the Kentucky Derby.

โ€ฆโ€ฆโ€ฆ

Now for the Sheriffโ€™s Office budget and overtime being โ€œmismanaged.โ€ That claim is outrageous. The Fiddlerโ€™s conversation clearly shows that this was said out of spite and created for political gain. If the budget was increased, show us where! Are the contractual raises being used as an excuse for the budget increase? For years, Sheriff Smith was allowed to move money at the end of the year to cover lines that were low. This was common practice and nothing out of the ordinary. Like any budget, year to year some budget lines run low and some run high, but by the end of the year the overall budget was always square. As soon as Sheriff Langley took office and the powers that be realized he would only answer to the people that elected him not the โ€œinner circle,โ€ they set out to micromanage him and make it appear he mismanages the budget. This is completely false! They took away his ability to move budget line money without their approval, all the while Odellโ€™s inner circle spends money on whatever they see fit. Even in a regular household budget if you didnโ€™t have the ability to move your money where it is needed, it would appear there is something wrong.

This moving of the goal post is being done to hurt Sheriff Langley prior to running for re-election in 2021, hence their Fiddlerโ€™s scheme being launched during the 2021 budget. Even if the people of Putnam County decide to elect a different Sheriff, they should want that Sheriff not be beholden to the powers that be, but to the people of Putnam County. And if there is a new Sheriff elected, he or she needs to realize everything being done now will be used against them in an attempt to control Law Enforcement. Just look at the way District Attorney Robert Tendy has been treated after speaking out against the almighty inner circle.

Our overtime and the way it is used to make it appear Department members make too much money is crazy. We work 24/7, 365. The shifts need to be covered, the job needs to get done and the people of Putnam County need the police to answer when they call. If overtime is cut then what happens is โ€ฆ less police. That is defunding the police. Most of the time, there is only one officer per town. Our men and women are stretched thin enough as it is. If they cut minimum staffing in an attempt to cut overtime, there literally wonโ€™t be an officer there to answer the calls.

Overtime is often pointed out, but Odell and Legislature never fully explain how it is cheaper to pay overtime than it is to pay all the roll-up costs of hiring more people. Hire more people and overtime will go down, but insurance and pension costs go up. So, in the long run, overtime is necessary and actually cheaper for the taxpayer long term. Letโ€™s not forget we continued to come to work during COVID unlike many of those who got raises and are still working remotely.

Also, the Marine budget was cut. Much of it is reimbursed by the New York State, so there is not a real cost felt by the Putnam County taxpayer for the great service that is provided. The Marine unit is a small unit-specific function with specialized training so itโ€™s not cost effective to dedicate officers to it as their main job function. The service had for years been run on overtime under Sheriff Smithโ€ฆ where was the problem then? There are so few police boats on the Hudson that during an emergency all Agencies rely on one another.

For Lake Mahopac, anyone that has been on the lake during the hot weather you can see how congested it is. One boat from Carmel PD and one boat from the Sheriffโ€™s Office is still too little. Both Agencies rely on one another and work together well for the safety of boaters on the lake.

Odell stated in a recent news release The Hudson River is not Putnamโ€™s jurisdiction. Maybe if there was a bar or something on the Hudson, Odell would know it is in Putnam County? She should check a map. It goes to show you, how little Odell, the Putnam County Executive, knows about Putnam County other than how to use it to make herself and her inner circle money.

Odell talks about how she continually tries to meet fiscal responsibilities of her constituents. That is a joke. When has she or her inner circle gone without a raise? When has one of their pet projects, that actually offers zero in return for the County taxpayers, gone without rubber stamped funding? As for โ€œsupporting Law Enforcement,โ€ actions speak louder than her false words. Look how she has treated the PBA, Sheriffโ€™s Office and even the Captains under Sheriff Smith when they tried to unionize. We would like to thank those Legislators who do realize how at times they are being used in order to promote the agenda of a few and it is not easy to speak out but they have started to. We appreciate their bravery.

In closing, we just want to point out that Odellโ€™s inner circle did not go without a raise during this COVID-19 pandemic or any year for that matter. The PBA was told during negations our contract was nothing but a โ€œmoney grab.โ€ What does Odellโ€™s inner circle call their raises? โ€œMoney grabs?โ€ Highly unlikely! Donโ€™t forget, most of her inner circle have multiple county jobs which each are rewarded with multiple county salaries, most of which are worked concurrently Monday โ€“ Friday, 9am-5pm, with weekends and holidays off.

Please continue to support Putnam County and its residents, we will do the same.

For God and County,

PCSD PBA

โ€”โ€”

PCNR – 10/20/20 – On Safety & the Sheriffโ€™s Dept.

To the Editor:

I would like to pose a question to the residents of Putnam County: Do you feel safe in your homes? Do you feel safe on the roads when you are traveling? Do you feel safe for your children when they are attending county schools? If the answer is yes, then I would hope your perspective is shaped by a recognition of the day-in, day-out, monthly, all year long efforts of the Putnam County Sheriffโ€™s Department and the dedicated men and women who staff this agency and provide a first-class law enforcement protection to the residents of our county.

I am alarmed that the County Executive and by affiliation, the county legislature, failed to include the Putnam County Sheriff, Robert Langley, in any budget review until 30 minutes before the budget was submitted. This deliberate and outrageous approach is playing politics with public safety. The Republican-loaded legislature might wish to play political games from the Washington DC, Republican Party playbook, but there is no place for this outrageous disregard for safety for each and every citizen of the county. The legislature is playing with fire with this direction and they should be held accountable. Public safety should be provided to all of us, Republican or Democrat or independent. The Sheriffโ€™s Department provides their services to us with no political questions and the legislature should conduct themselves in the same vein. Shame on the County Executive and the Legislature for this irresponsible action.

Dr. Phil Bayer

Carmel